This site is no longer active and is available for archival purposes only. Registration and login is disabled.

Which method of drawing is faster....

Which method of drawing is faster....

Postby voided » Dec 16, 2001 @ 11:40pm

I'm a new developer in Pocket PC and I wanna develop some GAPI games. I been trying to write  directly to the screen buffer with my own BltBlt function but encounter alot of problems.<br>Recently I found of a new way of drawing to screen througnt the help of the Microsoft's DIB and BltBlt. It goes like the<br><br>My sprite --(Using Windows Bltblt)--> DIB --(Using memcpy or my own BltBlt)--> Framebuffer<br><br>The good thing of this method is the I can use the Windows Bltblt to handle the loading, resizing, transparent, etc. I sure this method is slower but how much? Currently, I using memcpy for normal sprite and pixel copy for transparent and alpha sprite. If u have a better method of posting sprite to screen, please advise. Codes and example will be nice. Thanx.<br>
voided
pm Member

Re: Which method of drawing is faster....

Postby MirekCz » Dec 17, 2001 @ 2:16am

ello,<br>well, it's hard for me to say exactly how much slower it is, but I guess quite a lot. Especially the Pixel copy for transparent and alpha blended sprites is surelly really slow. The bitblt/memcpy might be not so bad...<br>They way to make it right (fast) is to use GAPI and do all your graphic functions yourself (or use a lib...) You might want to check easyce (www.pocketmatrix.com/phantom/ - go to tech page for full source download) , it is a great lib with all the initialization for GAPI and some simple drawing functions included.<br>Good luck!
With best regards,
Mirek Czerwinski
MirekCz
pm Member

Postby R0B » Dec 17, 2001 @ 6:28pm