Page 1 of 1

Source Code, File size limit

PostPosted: Mar 27, 2006 @ 2:57pm
by directdance
Hi Kornalius,

PPL does have problems with sourcecode files greater than about 307 kb (the .ppl file). Of course, it could be the quantity of instructions.

If you exceed this limit, it is not possible to press the "run" button a second time without chanching the source code. It does nothing. After changing the source code, you can press the "run" button again. Another possobility is to delete the .ppc file.

But it is not possible to generate a .exe file anymore. PPL is generating it, but by starting the exe on a ppc, nothing will happen. If generating an exe file for the Desktop-PC, the exe file is generated. When trying to start this, Windows XP will show an error message and is asking to send a message to microsoft for diagnostics (I do not know the english translation for this message. sorry).

My ppl file included more than 10100 lines, but inclusive comments and some blanklines.

Now, my source code includes 10026 lines (did some re-programming because of this) and it is working again. So, I am hard at the limit ...

Cheers,
DirectDance

PostPosted: Mar 27, 2006 @ 4:46pm
by kornalius
Hi DirectDance,

It is probably the .ppc loader that has a problem. Let me check it out. Althought I might ask you to send me the .ppc file so I can test it out.

PostPosted: Mar 27, 2006 @ 4:53pm
by kornalius
You know what it's the .ppc file loader. There is a buffer overrun. I need to find a way to replace the array with a linked-list. This way there won't be any limits.

PostPosted: Mar 27, 2006 @ 6:00pm
by kornalius
Done, .ppc files can be of any size. The .ppc creator and loader have no more limits.

PostPosted: Mar 28, 2006 @ 7:22am
by directdance
Hi,

I am glad to hear! I hope, your next beta will be out soon because I have not much code lines left before this error will be back in the actual version :wink:

Btw. Your profiler is amazing! I used it yesterday the first time and it even helped me to recognize sub routines, wich were called every program cycle and not only once on events.

This and a few other things (wow, a processsprite was taken 4,5% of my performance - now it is not called every cycle, instead of this only every fourth cycle) gained speed for me!


Thanks for this.
DirectDance

PostPosted: Mar 28, 2006 @ 2:56pm
by kornalius
I am glad you like it. I wrote the profiler for game optimizing mainly!